18
Feb
05

“In the Business”

A special thanks to all who have commented and linked since I began this site. Feel free to ask anything you like. I’d be glad to use your question as a topic. It’s easier when I know what others want to read as opposed to what I assume they want to read. Also, I wanted to post these two comments on the main page as the authors have some insight of their own…

RD commented:

A friend of mine sent me your link a month ago but I have to admit when I saw “stories? in the title I didn’t exactly rush to it. No offense. I’m a death investigator in a medical examiner system and I was expecting to see a bunch of poorly-crafted attempts at creative writing that were loosely based on reality. I too have a problem with TV (that goes beyond simply watching too much of it). I have to admit I was way off. It looks like a blog, but nowhere in it do you use the phrase “my little corner of the web? or describe the color and consistency of your most recent stool. Very factually based and you’re right, there are a lot of things that don’t occur to people about this line of work. If you’ve been doing this as long as I have, you should never run out of things to write about.

Barratic commented:

I’m glad to see a site like this. I myself work at the Medical Examiners office. I’m the pathology supervisor. I’ve been doing autopsies for 15 yrs. I have been to several scenes with investigators. In this line of work, every day is different. In 15 yrs I’ve just about seen it all I guess. I find the death investigation T.V. shows to be rather comical. It’s amazing how many people call our office to ask questions about their loved one and refer to one of those shows for the answer. The one thing I can think of that I haven’t seen is a homocide with a bow and arrow. But anyways great site sir!

To which I responded:

Come to think of it, I haven’t seen a bow and arrow homicide (or accident) either. Then again, I’ve never seen a fatality that was a result of running with scissors.

4 Responses to ““In the Business””


  1. February 20, 2005 at 5:07 pm

    I was just thinking – these lame crime shows must be popular because at some level they are also reasuring to people. I had a moment like that several years ago watching Autopsy on HBO and seeing Dr. Baden talk about finding like 5 hairs on a body and tracking the murderer with it. I remember at the time finding it very reassuring to know that if something horrible like that happens to me, science will make it easier to catch the bastard.

    I haven’t seen a bow and arrow injury either – in fact, not a lot of protruding injuries on homicide or hospital shows. But I have seen two trains vs. pedestrians on TV…

  2. 2 Amy Gaul
    February 27, 2005 at 5:23 pm

    Hi, I am interested in the job of being a County Coroner…Its weird, but I have actually wanted to do this for a long time, my family thinks its weird, but I want to pursue this only I am not sure how to go about doing this, or what classes I need to take..I currently reside in Iowa, but in a year or so, I plan to relocate to Texas..Please give me any information that I would need to help me pursue this career, anything would be helpful, thank you, Amy

  3. 3 julia
    March 23, 2005 at 1:57 pm

    As I read your blog I cant help but wonder what the ending was? It plays in my mind
    like a TV show and then the cable goes out and I never know what happens next. But I
    still keep comming back for more.

  4. May 13, 2005 at 3:09 pm

    Just thought you’d be interested to know that I do know of a death caused by a bow and arrow.
    It’s called bow fishing, and a young man was practicing, taking all the right precautions, but somehow the arrow came back (attached to a string for bowfishing) and went through his eye, killing him instantly. My partner’s son had to go and explain just how it could have been a complete accident and not homicide. The young man left behind a wife and 2 children.


Leave a Reply

